Enhanced GPRS (EGPRS) is an enhancement of a GSM network in which EDGE is introduced on top of the General Packet Radio Service (GPRS) that is used to transfer data in a packet switched mode on several time slots.

EGPRS is sometimes also called EDGE Classic. EGPRS is based on the same network architecture as GPRS. EGPRS will enhance the data rates of GPRS through the introduction of a new modulation scheme (8-PSK) and the introduction of new error correction schemes. The choice of the right error correction scheme can be adapted dynamically if the quality of the radio link changes. This is called link adaptation.

In EGPRS there are nine different coding schemes defined; five coding schemes for 8-PSK and four coding schemes for GMSK. These coding schemes are given in the table below.

EGPRS Modulation and Coding Schemes
Modulation and
Coding Scheme
Modulation Data rate per
timeslot (kbps)
MCS-1 GMSK 8.8
MCS-2 GMSK 11.2
MCS-3 GMSK 14.8
MCS-4 GMSK 17.6
MCS-5 8-PSK 22.4
MSC-6 8-PSK 29.6
MCS-7 8-PSK 44.8
MCS-8 8-PSK 54.4
MCS-9 8-PSK 59.2

If all 8 time slots are used, the maximum data rate will reach 473.6 kbps.

See also